Friday, February 28, 2014

The 'Cats celebrate 2013 during the program's annual banquet.

Team, Excellence, Attitude, Class
The 2013 Linfield Wildcats met for the final time last night at Michelbook Country Club in McMinnville for the team’s annual banquet.   It was a packed house as the program celebrated another tremendous season jammed full of accomplishments. 

The 11-1 season saw Linfield capture their 5th consecutive Northwest Conference title, ranked as high as #2 in the country, advanced to the elite 8 of the NCAA playoffs before falling to the eventual National Champions (Whitewater) in Wisconsin.  The ‘Cats had the #1 scoring offense in the country in racking up 48.8 points per game and boasted the #1 rushing defense in the country in only yielding 60.2 rushing yards per game (only gave up 4 rush TD’s on the year).  On top of that, you throw in numerous team and individual honors and it was another remarkable season to celebrate in the ‘Catdome. 

Below are this year’s team awards and it’s great to see so many players recognized by their peers and coaches for the work they’ve put into this program.  Go ‘Cats!

2013 Linfield Football Team Awards

Best Defensive Scout Player:   Logan Krellwitz, Defensive Back, Senior, West Linn, Or.

Best Offensive Scout Player:    Jordy Romick, Running Back, Senior, Grants Pass, Or.

Rookie of the Year:    Spencer Payne, Running Back, Freshman, McMinnville, Or.

Most Improved:    Alex Hoff, Defensive End, Sophomore, Lebanon, Or.

Best Special Teams Player:    Jordan Giza, Defensive Back, Junior, Salem, Or.

Best Offensive Lineman:    Eric Pitassi, Offesnive Guard, Sophomore, West Linn, Or.

Best Defensive Lineman:    Jeremy Girod, Defensive Tackle, Junior, Vancouver, Wa.

Best Offensive Player(s):   
Josh Yoder, Quarterback, Senior, Canby, Or.
Josh Hill, Running Back, Senior, Portland, Or.

Best Defensive Player:    Dominique Forrest, Linebacker, Senior, Portland, Or.

Offensive Captain:    Josh Yoder, Quarterback, Senior, Canby, Or.

Defensive Captain:    Dominique Forrest, Linebacker, Senior, Portland, Or.

Defensive Captain:    Tyler Steele, Defensive Tackle, Senior. Salem, Or.

Most Inspirational:    Tim Edmonds, Linebacker, Portland, Or.

John LaRosa “Commitment To Excellence Award":   
Jacob Priester, Tight End, Patterson, Ca.

Willis Baker Team Most Valuable Player(s):
Dominique Forrest, Linebacker, Senior, Portland, Or.
Josh Yoder, Quarterback, Senior, Canby, Or.

No comments: