Friday, February 1, 2013

Linfield's Brynnan Hyland up for Oregon Small College male athlete of the year.

Photo Courtesy of Linda MacClanathan
Linfield 1st team All-American ( & AFCA) Defensive End, Brynnan Hyland is up for one of the state of Oregon’s highest honors in being named a finalist for the Ad Rutschman Small College Athleteof the Year Award (male).  The award is part of the now 61st Oregon Sports Award held at the Nike World Headquarters in Beaverton.

Brynnan finished is 2012 season with a NCAA Division III high 19 sacks for 105 yards lost and 20.5 tackles for loss to go along with his 43 tackles on the year.  Hyland's 19 sacks brought his Linfield career total to 32 which is second all-time in Linfield history and only six behind Jim Mayo's 38 career sacks (1977-79).  Brynnan’s dominate contribution helped Linfield’s defense led division III in team sacks (64) and tackles for loss (129) as the ‘Cats stormed onto an 11-1 season that culminated with Linfield reaching the Elite 8 of the NCAA football playoffs.  

This is far from Linfield football’s first appearance at the Oregon Sports Award as five other Linfield Wildcats have brought home the award: David Russell (Running Back – 2002), Tyler Matthews (QB – 2003), Brett Elliott (QB – 2004 & 2005), Aaron Boehme (QB – 2009) and other ‘Cats have been named finalists: Drew Fisher (Safety – 2011) and Eric Hedin (DE-2010).

Along with the players, Coach Ad Rutchman has been named the state of Oregon’s Sportsperson of the Year 4 different times (Slats Gill Award) during his legendary career in 1982, 1984, 1986, and 1991.  
Hyland wraps up on one of his NCAA leading 19 sacks vs Puget Sound.
Linfield football has also been named Oregon’s Team of the Year (George Pasero Award) in 2004, 2003, 1986, 1984, and 1982.  Linfield Football is the only small college football program in the state of Oregon to win the team award and has captured the award the most out of any other team/program in the history of the award (University of Oregon Football – 4, Portland State Volleyball – 4).

Also a shout-out to Linfield softball legend Staci Doucette who is up for the Ad Rutschman Small College Athlete of the Year award (female) for the 2nd year in a row.  Staci won the award in 2011 after setting every hitting softball record you could imagine.  Linfield Defensive Coordinator, Jackson Vaughan, is also the head softball coach and has built a softball mega-power in capturing multiple National Titles and Softball World Series appearances.

No comments: